Monday, July 8, 2024

A. Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance (2:220)

President Joyce Dickerson called the meeting to order at 3:05pm.

B. Roll Call (2:220)

The following members were present: Ms. Sharron Davis, Ms. Vicki Walker, Ms. Aubry Crain, and Ms. Joyce Dickerson. The following members were absent: Ms. Yvette Black, Ms. Carlene Matthews, and Dr. Sylinda Musaindapo.

Also Present: Dr. Kinasha Brown, Superintendent, Ms. Sheryl Coleman, CSBO, Dr. Dominique Moore, Director of Human Resources, Mr. Leonard Hill, Director of Technology, and Mr. Lamarr Miller, District Community Liaison.

C. Audience Participation

Ms. Davis moved and it was seconded by Ms. Crain to open audience participation. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Walker, Ms. Davis, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. The following members were absent: Ms. Black, Ms. Matthews, and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

Ms. Walker moved and it was seconded by Ms. Davis to close audience participation. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Walker, Ms. Davis, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. The following members were absent: Ms. Black, Ms. Matthews, and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

D. Superintendent Report (1:20)

- 1. Ms. Coleman, CSBO- Presented the FY25 Revenue and Expense Projection Report as of June 25, 2024.
- Family Engagement Center- Dr. Brown presented her proposal for opening the new Family Engagement Center. Dr. Brown's presentation included the purpose of the center, what the center will offer, as well as, the impact the center will have on the community.
- 3. Administrative Retreat Recap- Dr. Brown provided a brief recap of the Admins Retreat; June 17- June 21, 2024. Dr. Brown included the feedback results of the survey provided related to the (2) training sessions conducted during the retreat.

E. Approve SPEED Facility Usage (8:20)

Ms. Crain moved and it was seconded by Ms. Walker to Approve the SPEED Facility Usage. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Walker, Ms. Davis, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black, Ms. Matthews, and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

Ms. Matthews arrived at 3:30p.m.

F. Approve Academic Support Program Contract (6:40, 6:60)

F1. Ms. Davis moved and it was seconded by Ms. Crain to Approve the Academic Support Program: LIT in the Hills (PreK- 3). On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Matthews, Ms. Walker, Ms. Davis, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

F2. Ms. Matthews moved and it was seconded by Ms. Walker to table the Academic Support Program: GROW/High Dosage Tutoring Contract (4-8). On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Matthews, Ms. Walker, Ms. Davis, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

G. Approve Mental Health Support Contract (6:65)

Ms. Walker moved and it was seconded by Ms. Matthews to table the Mental Health Support Contract: Talkspace. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Walker, Ms. Matthews, Ms. Davis, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

Aubry Crain, Secretary

H. Approval of Recruitment Contract (5:10)

Ms. Matthews moved and it was seconded by Ms. Walker to table Recruitment Contract: Chicago Defender Charities and Star Island Events, LLC. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Walker, Ms. Matthews, Ms. Davis, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

Ms. Matthews moved and it was seconded by Ms. Davis to untable Recruitment Contract: Chicago Defender Charities and Star Island Events, LLC. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Walker, Ms. Matthews, Ms. Davis, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

Ms. Davis moved and it was seconded by Ms. Crain to Approve the Recruitment Contract: Chicago Defender Charities and Star Island Events, LLC. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Walker, Ms. Matthews, Ms. Davis, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

 Approve Employee Wellness and Retention Contract (5:110) Ms. Matthews moved and it was seconded by Ms. Davis to Approve the Employee Wellness and Retention Proposal. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Walker, Ms. Davis, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. Abstain: Ms. Matthews. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

J. Approve Personnel Recommendation (5:30)

Ms. Matthews moved and it was seconded by Ms. Davis to Approve the Personnel Recommendation. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Matthews, Ms. Davis, Ms. Crain, Ms. Walker, and Ms. Dickerson. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black and Dr. Musaindapo. Motion Carried

K. Approve Transportation Contract Proposal (4:110)

Ms. Davis moved and it was seconded by Ms. Matthews to Approve the Transportation Contract Proposal: IL Central School Bus. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Walker, Ms. Davis, Ms. Matthews, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

L. New Business (2:20)

Dr. Brown moved that the District Re-Organization Proposal was discussed in executive session.

M. Executive Session (2:200)

Ms. Matthews moved and it was seconded by Ms. Walker to go into Executive Session. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Walker, Ms. Davis, Ms. Matthews, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

Ms. Matthews moved and it was seconded by Ms. Walker to adjourn Executive Session. On roll call the following members voted aye: Ms. Walker, Ms. Davis, Ms. Matthews, Ms. Crain, and Ms. Dickerson. Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried

N. Adjournment (2:200)

Ms. Matthews moved and it was seconded by Ms. Davis to adjourn the July 8, 2024 Special Board Meeting. On voice vote, all members present voted aye: Nays: None. Absent: Ms. Black and Dr. Musaindapo.

Motion Carried 5:55p.m.

Submitted by,

Joyce Dickerson, President